Juan Mata is among those who return while Paul Pogba and Mason Greenwood drop out as Manchester United prepare to take on Newcastle United at St. James’ Park.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has made five changes to the side that started in the 6-1 loss to Tottenham Hotspur last time out as Manchester United get set to lock horns with Newcastle United. There is no shuffle in goal, with David de Gea keeping his place ahead of Dean Henderson.

The first change comes in defence, with Victor Lindelof replacing Eric Bailly. Lindelof will be Harry Maguire’s central defensive partner, while Luke Shaw and Aaron Wan-Bissaka are the two full-backs, meaning Alex Telles has to wait to make his Manchester United debut.

Up ahead in midfield, the double pivot has an entirely new look, with Scott McTominay and Fred coming in for Nemanja Matic and Paul Pogba. Both Pogba and Matic will be options off the bench, if needed. Bruno Fernandes continues to reprise his role in the hole.

Finally, in attack, Marcus Rashford is the only player who retains his place, albeit as a striker instead of being deployed as a winger. The interesting development is that Mason Greenwood has been left out of the matchday squad entirely. In Greenwood’s stead, Juan Mata starts, with Daniel James the other Manchester United winger.

Manchester United Confirmed Lineup: de Gea, Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire, Shaw, Fred, McTominay, Mata, Fernandes, James, Rashford

Leave A Comment...