Saul Niguez has been handed a rare start, while Christian Pulisic starts upfront as Chelsea prepare to take on Watford at Vicarage Road shortly.

Thomas Tuchel has made six changes to the side that started in the 1-1 draw with Manchester United this past weekend as Chelsea get set to lock horns with Watford at Vicarage Road. There is no shuffle in goal, where Edouard Mendy keeps hold of his spot ahead of Kepa Arrizabalaga.

The first change comes in the central defensive unit, where Andreas Christensen replaces Thiago Silva. In the back three, Christensen will play the sweeper role, with Trevoh Chalobah and Antonio Rudiger starting alongside him.

Up ahead in midfield, Jorginho has been handed a rest after having been a doubt leading up to the game. In his stead, Saul Niguez has been afforded a rare starting opportunity, with the Spaniard lining up alongside Ruben Loftus-Cheek in the middle of the park.

Another player to be given a breather is Reece James, who is out of the squad altogether. Cesar Azpilicueta starts as the right wing-back, with Marcos Alonso stationed on the left flank. Up ahead in attack, Tuchel has fielded a new-look trio, with Christian Pulisic, Mason Mount and Kai Havertz coming into the starting lineup, leaving Hakim Ziyech, Callum Hudson-Odoi, Timo Werner and Romelu Lukaku as backup options.

Chelsea Starting Lineup: Mendy, Chalobah, Christensen, Rudiger, Azpilicueta, Loftus-Cheek, Saul, Alonso, Mount, Havertz, Pulisic

Leave A Comment...