Reece James and Kai Havertz return but Hakim Ziyech drops to the bench as Chelsea prepare to take on Leicester City at the King Power Stadium.

Frank Lampard has made four changes to the side that started in the 1-0 win over Fulham this past weekend as Chelsea get set to lock horns with Leicester City at the King Power Stadium. There are no shuffles in goal, with Edouard Mendy retaining his spot between the sticks ahead of Kepa Arrizabalaga.

The first change comes in defence, where Reece James replaces captain Cesar Azpilicueta. James occupies the right-back berth, with Ben Chilwell starting on the opposite flank once again. At the heart of the Chelsea defence, Antonio Rudiger continues as Thiago Silva’s partner.

Up ahead in midfield, the second shuffle sees Jorginho making way for Kai Havertz. Mason Mount and Mateo Kovacic keep hold of their respective spots, meaning Kovacic is likely to reprise the holding midfield role, with Mount and Havertz being the box-to-box midfielders.

Finally, in attack, Christian Pulisic is the only player starting a second successive game. Hakim Ziyech drops down to the bench while Olivier Giroud misses out altogether, as Tammy Abraham leads the line for Chelsea against Leicester, with Callum Hudson-Odoi completing the attacking trifecta.

Chelsea Starting Lineup: Mendy, James, Rudiger, Silva, Chilwell, Mount, Kovacic, Havertz, Hudson-Odoi, Abraham, Pulisic

Leave A Comment...