There aren’t too too many occasions when a team receives an indirect free-kick in the opposition penalty box, but Bordeaux were the beneficiaries of Liverpool FC keeper Simon Mignolet’s bizarre decision-making on Thursday in the UEFA Europa League


Liverpool FC continued their good form with a 2-1 win over Ligue 1 side Bordeaux in the Europa League on Thursday, but some questionable goalkeeping from Mignolet allowed the French side to take the lead at Anfield.


Mignolet held the ball for 22 seconds, far more than the allowable 6 second limit, and referee Alon Yefet saw fit to award an indirect free-kick to Bordeaux from inside the box for this transgression. The Belgian’s decision-making was difficult to understand in this instance, particularly as he had the opportunity to pass it to a team-mate — at least on one occasion.

Here is the video of Mignolet’s bizarre goal-keeping.