Manchester United manager Louis van Gaal has announced an 18-man squad for the return leg of their Champions League qualifying round. The absence of De Gea continues as United name Sam Johnstone alongside Sergio Romero for the goalkeeping slot.


Manchester United suffered quite a scare at Old Trafford, playing against the Belgian side Club Brugge. But they managed to recover and went on to win the game 3-1 courtesy of a double strike by Memphis Depay and an injury time goal by Maroune Fellaini.

Antonio Valencia has been left out of the squad alongside want-away goalkeeper David De Gea.

De Gea has only a year left with the club according to his contract and had his heart set on a move to Real Madrid only for Manchester United to refuse to sell the stopper.

De Gea has not been a part of any Manchester United competitive match day squad, with manager Louis van Gaal stating that he was not mentally adept to play at the time.

Manchester United will be hoping to qualify for the tournament after a year’s gap, having scraped through to a fourth place finish last season.

Bastian Schweinsteiger made his first start of the 2015/16 season against the Magpies and played for 60 minutes, but it remains to be seen if the German will retain his place in the XI over Michael Carrick, having just returned to full fitness. Phil Jones is still recovering from a mild case of thrombosis and Marcos Rojo is reportedly continuing to improve his match fitness having returned late from the Copa America.

Full squad:

Goalkpeepers: Sergio Romero, Sam Johnstone

Defenders: Daley Blind, Matteo Darmian, Paddy McNair, Luke Shaw, Chris Smalling

Midfielders: Michael Carrick, Marouane Fellaini, Ander Herrera, Juan Mata, Morgan Schneiderlin, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Ashley Young

Forwards: Memphis Depay, Javier Hernandez, Adnan Januzaj, Wayne Rooney.