Football world governing body FIFA announced the 23-man shortlist for Ballon da Or 2015 on Tuesday morning, and two team leading the list with their players are FC Barcelona and Real Madrid with 6 and 4 players respectively.

The FIFA Ballon d’Or is awarded to best performing male football player in the previous calendar year. The 23 player shortlist is compiled by the members of FIFA’s Football Committee and experts from French publication France Football. Prominent journalists, national team coaches and national captains are tasked with selecting the winner of the FIFA Ballon Da Or award through a voting process.

In 2010, FIFA struck a deal with France Football to award the Ballon d’Or to players worldwide instead of those only present in Europe.

Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo won the award last year after guiding his club Real Madrid to Champions League glory. Lionel Messi (4) and Cristiano Ronaldo (3) have won the last seven editions of the award and the trend is expected to continue this year as well. Brazilian midfielder Kaka was the last football player, apart from Messi and Ronaldo, to win the earlier edition of the award back in 2007.

The winner of the award will be announced on January 11, 2016 in a gala ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland.


Here are the nominees for the 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or.


FIFA BALLON D’OR 2015: THE NOMINEESWHAT A SQUAD! The Final 23 players. WHO do you think will win?

Posted by FIFA Ballon Da Or on Monday, October 19, 2015