UEFA on Wednesday revealed its coefficient seeds for Euro 2016, determining which nations go into which of the four pots for the December 12 draw.

France as hosts, Spain as champions, Germany, England, Portugal and Belgium all go into pot one as top seeds for the first-round draw that will establish six groups of four nations.

Performances at Euro 2012 (20 percent), the 2014 World Cup (40) and results during the Euro 2016 qualifiers (40) were taken into account to settle upon the seeds and therefore which team went into which pot.

One team from each pot will be drawn to go into each of the six groups.

The 2016 tournament (June 10 – July 10) is the first to feature 24 nations. From the initial six round-robin groups from which the top two teams and the four best third placed teams then go into a last-16 direct knock-out format.

The four pots and the UEFA coefficient score:


France (1st as hosts)

Spain (2nd as title holders)

Germany (40,236)

England (35,963)

Portugal (35,138)

Belgium (34,442)


Italy (34,345)

Russia (31,345)

Switzerland (31,254)

Austria (30,932)

Croatia (30,642)

Ukraine (30,313)


Czech Republic (29,403)

Sweden (29,028)

Poland (28,306)

Romania (28,038)

Slovakia (27,171)

Hungary (27,142)


POT 4:

Turkey (27,033)

Republic of Ireland (26,902)

Iceland (25,388)

Wales (24,531)

Albania (23,216)

Northern Ireland (22,61)