The qualifying draw for the 2018 World Cup will take place on Saturday in Saint Petersburg with 141 nations across five confederations waiting to find out their fate.

Here, AFP sports breaks down how the 32 participating nations in the finals in three years’ time in Russia will be determined:

Who can qualify?

Of the 208 FIFA eligible nations, 183 can still qualify and 141 will be involved in Saturday’s draw with the Asian confederation the only absentee as their qualifying process has already begun. Russia are the only already qualified side thanks to their position as hosts.

What happens at the draw?

In all there will be six draws. One for each of the European (UEFA), African (CAF), North and Central American (CONCACAF), South American (CONMEBOL) and Oceania (OFC) confederations with an additional draw determining which confederations will be paired in the two inter-confederation playoffs.

How are the remaining 31 places allocated?

Russia will be joined by 13 European sides, five African nations, four from the Asian confederation, four South American countries and three from North and Central America.

The remaining two places will be filled by two play-offs between Oceania’s best side and the fifth-best sides from Asia and South America as well as the fourth-placed side from CONCACAF.

When and where does the draw take place?

Saturday July 25th at 1500GMT at the Konstantin Palace in St. Petersburg

. By AFP