Vicente Del Bosque has announced Spain’s 23-man squad for World Cup in Brazil as Jesus Navas and Alvaro Negredo missed out.

Vicente Del Bosque has announced his final squad for the World Cup and there has been some notable absentee, as expected from a nation with embarrassing riches at their disposal. Del Bosque revealed his 30-man provisional squad earlier this month and the likes of Jesus Navas and Alvaro Negredo has missed the cut for the 23-man squad.

As with the provisional squad, Real Madrid goalkeeper, who has been regularly preferred over Iker Casillas in the league, is the biggest name to miss out among the custodians. Daniel Carvajal and Sevilla left back Alberto Moreno were also unlucky to miss out despite having a wonderful season, but Spain are spoilt for choice when it comes to full backs with Cesar Azpilicueta, Juanfran and Jordi Alba in the ranks.

Ander Iturraspe, Jesus Navas, Pedro and Thiago Alcântara have all being dropped from the final squad. The exclusion of Navas came as a surprise as this means the Spanish squad will be without any real wingers in their squad. Del Bosque did question Navas’ fitness, after he missed the final part of the Premier League with an ankle injury, ahead of this selection.

Fernando Torres’ inclusion has also raised some questions, especially with Manchester City striker Alvaro Negredo being ignored. De Bosque did express his belief in the former Liverpool striker and insisted he would bring his best for the nation.


Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli, on loan from Liverpool), David De Gea (Manchester United)


Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona), Raúl Albiol (Napoli), César Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Juanfran (Atlético Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona)


Xavi (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Cesc Fábregas (Barcelona), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Koke (Atlético Madrid), Javi Martínez (Bayern Munich)


David Silva (Manchester City), Diego Costa (Atlético Madrid), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Pedro (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United), David Villa (Atlético Madrid)