Argentina coach Alejandro Sabella has announced his final squad for the World Cup in Brazil. Ever Banega and Nicolas Otamendi are the two biggest names to be dropped. Superstar Messi will lead the side in Brazil.

Surprise inclusion is that of Martín Demichelis who joined his fellow Manchester City players Pablo Zabaleta and Sergio Agüero in the squad as Atletico Mineiro’s Valencia bound defender Otamendi was the one to make way.

Like Demichelis, another surprise inclusion is Boca Juniors’ midfielder Fernando Gago. The ex- Real Madrid man is not completely recovered from his injury yet but still got the nod ahead of Ever Banega. The Valencia owned midfielder failed to impress Sabella with his efforts and Gago got the nod instead.

Atlético Madrid’s Sosa was expected to be left out of the squad as the player has struggled to get a starting place for Rojablancos over the year.

Of all the World Cup participating nations, Argentina possesses “unarguably” the best attack. The likes of Messi, Aguero, Higuain, Palacio and Lavezzi have the ability to destroy any defence of the world football and it will be interesting to see how Sabella opts to give fair chance to everybody.

Argentina’s midfield consists of Javier Mascherano, Ángel di María, Lucas Biglia, Maxi Rodríguez, Ricardo Álvarez, Enzo Pérez and Augusto Fernández. Out of the said players, Di Maria and Mascherano are the guaranteed starters while Biglia and Maxi Rodriguez are expected to fight for third midfield spot.

Other big names absent from Sabella’s squad who were not even made it to the provisional squad are Tottenham’s Erik Lamela and Juventus striker Carlos Tevez.

Lamela joined Tottenham joined Premier League side Tottenham last summer but horribly failed to impress anybody as he started in only 10 games. Carlos Tevez enjoyed a successful season Serie A with Juventus as he scored 19 goals but he also failed to impress the coach.

Argentina World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Monaco), Mariano Andújar (Catania), Agustín Orión (Boca Juniors).

Defenders: Ezequiel Garay (Benfica), Federico Fernández (Napoli), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Marcos Rojo (Sporting Lisbon), José María Basanta (Monterrey), Hugo Campagnaro (Inter Milan), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Ángel di María (Real Madrid), Maxi Rodríguez (Newell’s Old Boys), Ricardo Álvarez (Internazionale), Augusto Fernández (Celta Vigo), Enzo Pérez (Benfica).

Forwards: Sergio Agüero (Manchester City), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuaín (Napoli), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris Saint Germain), Rodrigo Palacio (Internazionale).