The Bayern Munich star has warded off competition from the likes of Paul Pogba and Blaise Matuidi to lift the individual award for the third time in his career.

Dortmund - Bayern

Ribery is the French Player of the Year.

Franck Ribery has been voted the French Player of the year for the third time in his career after a string of terrific performances for both club and country in 2013. The winger helped the Bavarians to an unprecedented treble, scoring 11 in the process.

Having won it earlier in 2007 and in 2008, this award leaves the winger just 2 behind Thierry Henry(5)  in terms of having the won the title for the most number of times.  Speaking exclusively after the ceremony, Ribery spoke about the delight of being his country’s best player for a third time in six years :

“I know that Henry has won the award five times and it’s a great honour to follow in his footsteps. Thierry is one of France’s all-time greats. He now knows that I’m gunning for his record.”

The French International has already made a strong start to the current campaign, having scored 9 goals in 15 appearances for the Bavarians and playing an important part in the national team’s quest of ensuring their presence in Brazil next year.

His stellar performances have also earned him a place in the Ballon D’Or shortlist alongside 1 time winner, Cristiano Ronaldo and 4 time winner, Lionel Messi.