Click here for archives.

Mohammedan SC clinched a thrilling match to stay in hunt for the Kolkata Football League title by defeating Prayag United 4-3. Mohammedan went up 2-0 in first half thanks to goals from Stanley and Tapan Maiti. The floodgates broke between 70th and 80th minutes with teams exchanging an incredible 5 goals in that period. Joshimar and Yakubu scored on 70th and 72nd minutes respectively to make the scoreline 2-2. Minutes later Alfred made it 3-2 for Mohammedan only to see Joshimar bring Prayag level yet again. Stanley’s goal on 80th minute eventually proved to be the matchwinner. Mohammedan can win the KFL title if East Bengal and Mohun Bagan lose one of the remaining matches and they themselves defeat East Bengal in their last match.

East Bengal will take to field against Bhawanipore on Saturday in inaugural match of IFA Shield. Shield has lost a lot of lusture this season due to absence of teams like Mohun Bagan, Churchill Brothers and Salgaocar. IFA Shield winners will get Rs. 20 lakhs while runners-up will get Rs. 15 lakhs. reports
“Futuro III Referee Instructors Course, the first of its kind in India, kicked-off at a glittering Opening Ceremony in the Capital on Thursday (March 1, 2012). Mr. Kushal Das, the General Secretary of the All India Football Federation, lit the traditional lamp besides declaring the Course Open.
Muhiseen Ariff, RDO-FIFI Instructor from Sri Lanka, Lim Kee Chong, FIFA technical Instructor from Maritius and Ganeshan Maniam, FIFA Instructor Fitness from Singapore would be conducting the sessions. The six-day course is being attended by 51 participants from all over the country”

Kalighat MS have released a club mascot and are planning to launch club merchandise soon. The club has already taken a step to professionalize by changing themselves to a company. The club mascot was revealed in a press conference on Thursday and footballers were given prizes for their brilliant performance in I-League first round.

Savio Medeira might call reinforcements for AFC Challenger Cup after Rocas Lamare, Clifford Miranda, Baldeep Singh and Arnab Mondal sustained injuries during India’s camp in Dubai. India has registered 50 players for the tournament and Medeira might call up some players from that list. Meanwhile, India defeated an Iranian club 3-1 with goals from Sunil Chhetri, Joachim Abranches and Sushil Singh to wrap up their Dubai camp.

Dempo clinched the Goa League title after Salgaocar defeated Sporting Clube de Goa 2-1 on Thursday. Salgaocar had a mathematical though improbable chance of overtaking Dempo but their margin of victory was not big enough to hand them the title.

Work has started in Duler Stadium, Mapusa, Goa to lay down an artificial turf. Work is expected to be finished by May, 2012.

Click here to read an article on football in North East.