Click here for archives.

IFA had released the schedule for next round of matches in Kolkata Football League but they are facing a new set-back after a letter from Kolkata Police to postpone the matches. According to police, it will not be possible for them to provide security during the matches on 27th and 29th because of a bandh in Kolkata on 28th. IFA has mentioned that it is not possible to postpone the games again so they can employ private security forces. Meanwhile, Churchill Brothers and Sporting Clube de Goa have declined to play in IFA Shield. Jairzinho, top scorer in 1970 World Cup can come with Brazilian club Batafogo’s youth team.

East Bengal defender Sunil Kumar suffered a broken arm during training on Saturday. He is likely to miss out for rest of the season. Trevor James Morgan is now facing a personnel crisis in central defence with Okpara being the only specialist centre-back in the squad in absence of national team players.

Mohun Bagan official site has published an interview of coach Prasanta Banerjee.

IFA has decided to come out with a set of rules and a code of conduct for foreign footballers, including Nigerian footballers playing in Kolkata. This decision has come on the back of unruly behaviour of foreign footballers from Mohammedan SC, Kalighat MS and Aryan Club.

Wilred Leisure Sports Club, Curtorim, became champions in GFA First Division League defeating Goa Police 3-0. In other matches Navelim, Salcete Football Club beat Corps of Signals 1-0. Clube Sao Minguel de Taleigao and Curtorim Gymkhana drew 0-0.

Churchill Brothers could become the new Goan champions if they defeat Dempo in a highly anticipated match on Sunday. This match will be played under flood lights and is expected to draw a large crowd. Sporting Clube de Goa, also in contention for the title, plays Vasco in another match on Sunday.

Indian Express has published an article titled “Football players around the world sign a contract, not in India”

Baichung Bhutia had this to say about retirement of Climax Lawrence and Mahesh Gawli, “If you ask me personally, I feel Climax and Mahesh should have played for some more years (for India). They had age on their side. They were just 32 and 31 respectively whereas when I retired I was 35. I feel they took a hasty decision,”

Assam Tribune Reports:
“The 4th Airtel Assam State Premier League will kick start at Diphu on March 3.
The championship will be played in two groups among 10 leading football teams of the State. Disclosing the venues and format of the meet, Assam Football Association (AFA) secretary Ankur Dutta revealed in a press conference here today that, at Diphu five clubs – Assam Rifles SC, Gauhati Town Club, Morning Star FC, Assam Police Blues and Silchar PHSRC – will take on each other for the top two places.
Accordingly at Guwahati, OIL FC, ASEB FC, Green Valley SC, FCI FC and defending champions SAI Kokrajhar will play in a round robin league from March 6. Top two teams of each group will qualify for the semifinals. The semifinals will be played on March 17 and 18 while the final is scheduled for March 20, Dutta said. The Airtel sponsored tournament will be organised under the guidance of AFA.”

  • This write up will help to know more about indian football

  • Samrat

    is this how a news roundup is written? i found no point switching from one news to other without proper indications and references. this is absolutely a hotch-potch. if you really want indian football to grow, stop posting these rubbish materials. native english speakers read these posts to know more about indian football.

  • Wendel

    Brazilian club BOTAFOGO’s U-23.

    The club was founded in 1894 as a rowing club called Club de Regatas Botafogo and reformed to its current name in 1942 as the club fused with Botafogo Football Club. The first moment of glory was just after its foundation. The team won Rio de Janeiro State Championship in 1907, 1910 and 1912. The team often won games by large margins, like 24-0 over Sport Club Mangueira, which remains the highest score in organised Brazilian football. For that reason, Botafogo was nicknamed “O Glorioso” (The Glorious One).