Click here for archives

CMG, organizers of the Argentina-Venezuela match had organized an expert committee for that match. The job of that committee was to prepare a report on learnings and observations, so that these inputs can be utlised for betterment of Indian football. The committee contained ex-footballers like Prasun Banerjee, Subrata Bhattacharya and Goutam Sarkar. Among them Prasun Banerjee has prepared a technical report on Argentina’s practice sessions as well as the actual match. The report has been submitted to CMG group.
(Report from Pratidin)

The start of Second Division I-League is clashing with dates for Kolkata Football League. Teams like Mohammedan SC, Southern Samity and Aryan SC have matches in KFL during that period. IFA has requested AIFF to reconsider the dates of Second Division and postpone the start by 4-5 days. AIFF is yet to respond officially.

The Premier League Soccer has already garnered considerable attention in International media with several sites based in USA, UK, Europe and Australia reporting about the event. The Guardian has taken a slightly sarcastic look at PLS but nonetheless talks about it.

Rennendy Singh, Lajong FC’s first ever India International was unveiled in front of the press on Monday. Rennedy’s fitness is a doubt right now and he may not figure in Lajong’s starting XI. Lajong coach Pradyum Reddy had this to say:
“We hope that the team’s fortune would change with the presence of an experienced players like Rennedy who has represented the country in various prestigious international football event,”

AIFF has published an interview of Dempo goal machine Ranty Martins.

Dempo has registered Densil Theobald for I-League and the Trinidad and Tobago national will make his debut against Air India. Japanese Yusuke Kato will be arriving on 22nd January for trials and can fill Dempo’s PAO quota if he impresses Armando Colaco.

5th Dr. Jack de Sequeira Memorial Awards, instituted by Konkani Songit Somajik Kala Kendra will be presented on January 23. Following is the list of persons who will be receiving this award this year.
Special Achievement and Performance Award 2011: Francisco Monte Cruz, the architect of Fatorda Stadium.
Life Time Achievement for Football (men) – Brahmanand Sancoalcar.
Life Time Achievement for Football (women): Yolanda De Sousa
Coach of the Year: Savio Medeira
Team of the Year: Salgaocar
(Report from OHeraldO)

Tilak Maidan will be hosting a match under flood lights for the very first time on 22nd January when Goa XI faces Korean outfit Hallelujah FC, revealed Vasco Parish Priest, Fr. Jose Antonio da Costa in a press conference on Monday. GFA Vice-president Elvis Gomes had this to say:
“We are expecting about 10,000 football fans for the match. Different committees have been drafted with various responsibilites to see that the match is witnessed by a jam- packed stadium. There are some players who have represented the Korean Olympic teams and several of them who have represented the junior Korean National teams. Lee Young Moo, the head of the delegation, is the head coach and is one of the three founders of the club.”

After a 2 day seminar Rob Bann has selected 6 coaches for four regional youth Academies planned by AIFF. The selected coaches are – Goutam Ghosh, Noushad Musah, Akil Ansari, Sajid Yusuf, Hilal and Tarun Ray.